Utter relief

13 07 2006

I am so relieved to have finished this at last.  Writing poetry is NOT something that comes naturally to me and I am just so glad to have this one under my belt.  I am actually fairly pleased with the end result which probably means I will get a completely sucky mark (I never can judge this properly) but right now I am just pleased to have submitted it – and a day early too!!!

So here it is:

The Ruined House

A house’s glass eyes catch mine,
Drawing me from my sunny walk.
Almost hidden are walls of vine;
The broken stone held by reedy stalk.
I clamber across a nettle-filled ditch,
Over an old fence blackened by the wind.
The stings on my legs are starting to itch;
On the gate, an unreadable sign is pinned.

My curiosity silenced by mossy floor
Til I brush past bushes and disturb a flock.
A forgotten path leads to a splintered door,
A long-spun web protects the lock.
The once white paint is now dull grey,
A faded pediment adorned by a dove.
As I stoop to a statue moulded from clay,
I’m startled by a clamouring from up above.

A jet-black crow lands on the crumbling stack
And pecks at the remaining loose roof tiles.
Dust is sent flying in a cloud of black,
The caw of the crow the only sound for miles.
As I move towards the nearest front window
My skin is chilled by rising dread
For scraps of paper scrawled with a madman’s flow
Are pasted face-out proclaiming “She’s dead!”

I urgently scan across each jaundiced page
Some words collided, but some untangled
A story recorded of obsession and rage,
A husband’s confession, a wife’s body mangled.
Black clouds veil the darkening sky
No breeze to disturb the eerie still
Then from within the house – a piercing cry –
And a candlestick clatters from the windowsill.

Turning, fleeing, I run into a passer-by
“What’s wrong, young lady” his eyes full of sadness
I try to speak but my throat’s too dry.
“The house” I gasp, “those rants of madness”
His inky hand grabs my neck, my hair
His shrivelled face is drained of life
“You never should have trespassed there!
Now you’ve disturbed my demented dead wife!”

Dun-dun-duuuuuun!!!!

Mark: 70%

ETA: I am so psyched that I have finished this because I can now start writing here more often (I wouldn’t let myself post anything until I had finished that assignment). I have become a compulsive blog-reader and am enjoying the whole random ‘next blog’ button for finding the weird and the wonderful! The great thing is that the next part of my course is Life Writing so I can legitimately update my blog and read others as practice and research respectively!!!! As if I need more of an excuse!…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

