Procrastination is a four-letter word

15 08 2006

I have been trying on and off for week to write my next assignment.  I foolishly thought this would be easier than the last.  I hate writing poetry and who can’t write about themselves?  Well, me apparently.  I can write rubbish on here until the cows come home but to actually write something readable, interesting, and most importantly, true?  That’s tough.  I have stared at a blank notepad for half an hour.  Then switched to a blank Word doc, thinking that might inspire me.  But no.  I have decided on the basic premise but taking it to the next level (i.e. putting some words down on the page) is just not happening at the moment.

I have just spent an hour browsing the web, myspace, blogs I read etc etc.  In other words, anything but actually thinking about my assignment which is due by 11.59pm Friday.  It’s ok, I am not panicking.  Not yet anyway.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 08 2006
Jen

You can do it! I’m up at the crack of dawn to get stuck in (ie panicking big time, checking blogs, blah blah!!!).

Just a suggestion but have you tried writing your piece in the thrird person? I’ve found it easier to put a bit of distance between ‘me’ and ‘the story’ which makes it easier to get that fictional feel with more description and whatnot. Dead easy to change the ‘she’ to ‘I’ afterwards… good luck!

x

16 08 2006
kate1976

Thanks for your encouragement and that is a great idea. It was the first person that was tripping my up I think. I hope you get your done to your liking in time. xx

Leave a Reply

