Ouch

7 11 2006

I am not having a good day. I fell down the stairs. Yes, that’s right. All the way down. Now, you would think that falling down the stairs is an activity restricted to over-confident toddlers still learning to walk and old people. But noooo! Not me. As an adult, I have fallen down the stairs approximately five times. That may not seem a lot but just think about how many times you have skidded down twelve carpeted steps on your arse. Bet its never or maybe once. At least this time I was fully dressed. One of the five times, I was in my nightie and my concerned housemate caught an unpleasant eye-full (in case you are lacking the necessary imagination, picture me sprawled, arms raised above my head clinging to the rail on one side and the bannister on the other, my nightie up to my armpits, my girl parts all hanging out. Nice.).

I am a little sore but otherwise disappointingly unmarked by my experience which means I will not be able to capitalise on it for maximum sympathy when ricardo gets home. On the plus side, Mr Motivator just cancelled this week so that’s one less thing for me to worry about. I am not sure he would have believed I fell down the stairs either given my track record with fibs. I am just the girl who cried injury.

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 11 2006
Gus

Hey, thanks for the link over there on your sidebar! I’ll have to put something like that on my site when I sober up, er I mean find the time.

I just got done telling Sarah (http://unmentionables.blogspot.com/) that I thought “arse” was something only British people said, or people pretending to be British. Then I come over here and see you use it here in your latest entry. The world is full of strange coincidences, no?

I’m pretty sure you are British becaused you say “arse” and “pop over.” Nobody “pops over” here in the U.S., unless maybe they are quoting Monty Python or something. We do have Pop Tarts, though, and nobody snickers and thinks of prostitutes when we refer to them.

And you also refer to London and the Tube, so I’m pretty sure you are British, but then again you may be Canadian. I hear they have a London up there where they do Shakespeare plays. That makes it really confusing for us Americans, who have a lot of trouble with geography in the first place and aren’t even sure which countries we have invaded.

What were we talking about again?

8 11 2006
kate1976

No problemo. I finally updated my links the other day (yesterday? I don’t remember, it’s all a blur).

I am indeed British, I work in London (the original old-school version) and thus am unlucky enough to travel on the tube.

I suppose there are qutie a few British words that creep into my post, but the following have been sorely lacking, which I will rectify at some point: wanker, cheerio, wally, prat. Because of the immense amount of American TV I watch, I have picked up some American sayings such as dude and howdy. I bet I would fit right in if I moved to the States.

8 11 2006
Gus

I usually don’t reply to replies to my comments, but I just have to say, wanker is great! I use it all the time.

I love to call people wankers. Around here there are still a quite a few people who have never heard the expression, so when I say, “You wanker!” they look at me like, huh??

3 04 2009
Mid-week catch up « all five horizons

[…] on the tube (by clinging to the rail while the train lurches).  The injury was exacerbated by falling down the stairs (I tried to slow my fall by grabbing the bannisters).  I have finally got round to filling in my […]

Leave a Reply

