Mid-week catch up

22 11 2006

I am glad it is already halfway through the week.  Not for any reason other than I much prefer Saturdays and Sundays to Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Fridays.  Can you guess why?!

In home news, I have decided that we need a cleaner again, preferably one that actually cleans.  And turns up.  You know, the basics.  I also want help with ironing and other odd jobs so I have emailed this company called 25th Hour which help with all kinds of jobs around the house for busy people.  It is actually my ideal job – I would love to run a little concierge-service company but whilst I have my actual job, I don’t have time for the small stuff.  I also desperately need to get to the doctors because a) my smear is a year overdue (euw – sorry) and b) my shoulder is still painful.  I think I originally hurt it travelling on the tube (by clinging to the rail while the train lurches).  The injury was exacerbated by falling down the stairs (I tried to slow my fall by grabbing the bannisters).  I have finally got round to filling in my registration forms for the doctors’ surgery.  I just need to drop them off there so that I can make an appointment or two. 

This weekend is going to be a challenge NaBloPoMo-wise as I am going to be a bridesmaid at my friend’s wedding.  I am warning you in advance that my post for Saturday will be short, possibly via Flickr, and maybe just after midnight if I can get connected to the internet in my hotel room.  Apologies in advance.  I can pretty much guarantee there will be no Word of the Day.  I think you will live.

I haven’t mentioned Mr Motivator for a while and there is a reason.  Due to various reasons that I can’t go into, I have decided to bin Mr Motivator for the time being.  I sent him the most honest email I have ever sent to him and asked if we could postpone our sessions until the new year.  When I took a look at the things that were sucking up my time, he was the only thing I can afford to lose.  I have to work. No way round that.  And I have to carry on with OU for my future.  So no more lying about exercising.  I do actually want to keep doing some exercise but at least the pressure is off for the time being and I don’t have the weekly dread that I am not going to cope with Mr Motivators sessions.

Speaking of OU, I have just got back my first assignment for my new course (U210 English Language: Past, Present and Future).  I was really annoyed with myself when I submitted it because I had really found it difficult to write the essay and I truly expected to get a very low mark.  I almost didn’t submit the essay at all, instead taking a substitution mark, but I thought that if I was going to do that, then any mark I received would help.  I ended up getting 68%, with which I am delighted.  I want to try to get the next essay done well ahead of time so that I don’t have to put myself through the stress of driving over to Coventry on the day of the deadline to post it through my tutor’s door like the total loser that I am. 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

