Dave Grohl is the Daddy

28 02 2007

Reading Dave Grohl: Nothing to Lose by Michael Heatley has not made me love him any less.  In fact, I am seriously crushing on this man right now. 

He was the (totally fantastic) drummer in a band which was right at the heart of the music I loved as I turned from girl into woman, lost my virginity, enjoyed some of the best times of my youth, and generally started to form an identity.

He managed to overcome an excrutiatingly sad and pain-filled and pain-fuelled end to his bandmate’s life to form his own band which TOTALLY ROCKS.

His perhaps unfortunate (in the world of Rock, at least) moniker of ‘Nicest Man in Rock’ seems to be completely fitting.  Example – after the dictatorship of Nirvana and the rows over royalties, he made sure the Foos was a democracy, to the point of sharing royalties of the first album with each band member even though they weren’t actually involved with the band when the record was made.  His niceness makes him even hotter. 

His voice makes me melt and his riffs make me rock out.  I have said this before to many people but I honestly believe he would make a really great friend and that we would have a blast.  I wish I could hang out with him.  That would be cool.

He is also on my list.

*sigh*

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 03 2007
josh

Hey there,
My two friends and I just launched this site challenging the Foo Fighters (our rock idols) to a kickball game in San Francisco. We’re hoping the word and publicity spreads to a point that the Foos find out about it, and have no choice but to show up and play. And drink beers with us after the game,…or before. Or during. It’s our dream and we’ve gotta start somewhere.

We’d be so ridiculously grateful it if you could write us up on your blog, as I’m sure a ton of FF fans (and maybe some kickball fanatics) are avid readers of it. Hey, if this happens and you’re here in SF, maybe we’ll still have some open spots on the team too. Take a gander, it’s http://www.FoosOnFirst.com. Definitely let me know if you have any questions or anything. And thanks!! It’s all much appreciated. ~~(whoa its) josh

24 03 2007
Foos on First « my so-called blog

[…] Heirloom Foos on First March 24th, 2007 The other day, I had a comment on my post about how much I dig Dave Grohl, leader singer/guitarist of the Foo Fighters from a dude called (whoa its) Josh who has had the […]

3 04 2009
Foos on First « all five horizons

[…] March 2007 by allfivehorizons The other day, I had a comment on my post about how much I dig Dave Grohl, leader singer/guitarist of the Foo Fighters from a dude called (whoa its) Josh who has had the […]

Leave a Reply

