Wikipedia fun!

19 03 2007

Taking Emily’s lead, I did the Wikipedia history research project. The idea is that you use Wikipedia to search for your birthday (month and date, not year), then list 3 events, 2 birthdays, 1 death, 1 holiday (or observance).  This is what happened on 28th July:

3 events:

1540Thomas Cromwell is executed on order from Henry VIII of England on charges of treason. Henry marries his fifth wife, Catherine Howard, on the same day.

1914World War I begins: Austria-Hungary declares war on Serbia after it failed to meet the conditions of an ultimatum it set on July 23 following the killing of Archduke Francis Ferdinand by a Serbian assassin. This event leads to the outbreak of war.

2005 – A tornado touches down in a residential area in south Birmingham, England, causing £4,000,000 worth of damages and injuring 39 people.

2 birthdays:

1866Beatrix Potter, English author (d. 1943)

1929Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, First Lady of the United States (d. 1994)

1 death:

1750Johann Sebastian Bach, German composer (b. 1685)

1 holiday:

Peru – Independence Day

Looks like, unless you are Peruvian, Beatrix Potter or Jackie O, bad things happen on my birthday.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 03 2007
Jen

Ooh. I like this game. It’s funny that all those things happened just by you being born…

Am rather nervous to what havoc I’ve created!!! 😉

X

19 03 2007
charlotteotter

July 28th was bad news for Elizabethans, huh? Great meme; I think I may have to copy it.

20 03 2007
FENICLE

It was kind of fun to look up! Although I didn’t know you could edit info on Wikipedia.

20 03 2007
kate1976

Jen, I am hoping my birth did not have anything to do with starting WW1!!

Charlotte – I look forward to seeing what you find.

It was very fun. I forgot to add myself to the list of birthdays though – that was genius, Emily!

🙂

Leave a Reply

