Bed, train, sofa…

19 04 2007

As evidence of my recent procrasination to avoid doing the dreaded essay (I promise I wont mention this again – so dull, I know), I have finished off three books which have been in my handbag, by the bed and in the lounge for snatched moments of reading.

These books were all totally different which helps when I am reading more than one book at a time – my tiny brain can’t cope otherwise.  Being very forgetful, I have to have a different book for each type of reading session – if I read a book in bed at night it has little to no hope of making it into my handbag in the morning for me to read on the train.  I love how I get something different out of different types of book I read.  I love that I am able to enjoy popular detective-style fiction, like Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series, right along side reading one of the best writers alive today, Margaret Atwood. 

  • The Hard Way Lee Child – this was classic Reacher stuff.  Very readable and difficult to put down.  The character of Reacher is kinda dreamy – so capable, strong, clever, serious and all that good stuff.  And he makes mistakes.  But he makes up for them.  He likes strong women which is also pretty cool. 
  • The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood – The book runs three story threads concurrently.  Firstly. there are the memoirs of Iris Chase, tracking her eventful life.  There are excerpts from The Blind Assassin, Iris’s sister’s posthumously published book and then there are the pulp fiction stories the hero of Laura’s book tells his lover at their trysts in cheap hotel rooms.   Whilst Atwood has come under some criticism with this book for the appearance that the political elements of the book being bolted on to the romantic tale, I didn’t care.  The book for me was about family.  Love.  Sacrifice.  Poverty and wealth.  Mistakes.  Regrets.  I found the pulp fiction sections a little wearing after a while but the main story – about Iris, her sister and what became of them both – was captivating.  I loved The Handmaid’s Tale and Alias Grace, so I will be certainly seeking out more of Atwood’s work.
  • A Lotus Grows in the Mud Goldie Hawn – Goldie’s autobiography did not really throw up any surprises about the type of person Goldie is.  I think how she comes across on screen, in interviews etc. is pretty close to how she comes across in her book.  Full of life, optimism, love and spirituality, Goldie’s autobiography manages to give intimate glimpses into her world without giving it all away.  It took me quite a while to read this – I tend to read things slower that don’t pull me along (maybe I am a lazy reader like that).  But her appealing, bubbly nature is rather endearing and I enjoyed reading the insight into her life.

Next on the reading list: Lionel Shriver’s Double Fault and High Fidelity by Nick Hornby.

By the way, I haven’t posted about it, because frankly, I have no idea what to say about it but it is on my mind.  I cannot express my sadness or my frustration and anger. 

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 04 2007
KidKate

I recently finished The Blind Assassin and loved it as well. Her books are so intense that I can only handle one at a time (have to read some lighter stuff inbetween).

Also, wanted to tell you that we saw Hot Fuzz and loved it (per your post a while back). So, you have some friends in your movie camp :-). Have you seen Blades of Glory?

21 04 2007
kate1976

Not yet but as ardent Ferrell fans, we are bound to soon… have you?

ps so glad you liked Hot Fuzz – you have awesome taste!

22 04 2007
KidKate

Blades of Glory was good, though not as memorable as I had hoped. Sometimes they give away too much in the previews…sigh. But still worth it for a night out of not-too-serious movie fun.

23 04 2007
Hanmee

I love Margaret Atwood. I got the Blind Assassin YEARS ago as a gift and started reading it, but never finished it. Thanks for reminding me to dust it off.

Leave a Reply

