Review time

7 06 2007

I have been reading:

Notes on a Small Island I read Bill Bryson’s book A Walk in the Woods about his walk along the Appalachian Trail before our trip to the States last year which included a drive through Shenandoah National Park (alongside a section of the Appalachian Trail – we even managed to have a short walk along it!). He really is a very funny man so I was interested to see what he had to say about our fair isle. I was not disappointed. He has such affection for our country in spite of (because of?) our strange idiosyncharsies that you will only appreciate if a) you are British or b) you have lived here for any amount of time.

P.S. I Love You I read this solely because I saw that a film was being made of it with Gerard Butler (of 300 fame) and wanted to have read the film prior to seeing the film which I am bound to do because it has Gerard Butler (of 300 fame) in it. The book is written by the daughter of the Irish Prime Minister which is the most interesting thing I can think to say about it. I like myself some chick-lit-lite but this is ridiculous. The writing was obvious, unsubtle, clichéd and dull. I did not connect with the characters and felt no emotional connection whatsoever with the story or the protagonist. I did not care what happened in the end. Having said this, I can see why this will be made into a film. The premise is actually not that bad: Widow receives a letter from her dead husband which he wrote before he died along with 11 other instalments to be read monthly to help her bereavement. It actually sounds really naff now I write it… But I honestly think the film will be far superior to the book. I hope so anyway. This does really annoy me though. It seems that to have your novel made into a film, you don’t have to be a good writer. You just have to have a good idea. Seems a bit unfair to me.

High Fidelity Another novel made into film, I have wanted to watch the film for ages but again wanted to read the book first (generally the better way to do things in my experience). Unlike P.S. I Love You, this book is well written, with complex and interesting characters. I really enjoyed the book (I do like Nick Hornby) and am dying to know how this will translate from a British book into an American film. I have high hopes though. I just LOVE The Perfect Catch with Drew Barrymore and Jimmy Fallon which is based on Hornby’s Fever Pitch. I even prefer it to the British film adaptation with Colin Firth but that could jut be because the team he is obsessed with (the book is about a football-obsessed protagonist falling in love) is Arsenal which I abhor. I much preferred Fallon’s character obsessed with the Red Sox. Anyway, in short, I like High Fidelity. And I want to see the film as I love John Cusack and Jack Black.

Actions

Information

5 responses

7 06 2007
charlotteotter

I loved Notes from a Small Island (the opening chapter was one of the most hysterically funny things I have ever read) and High Fidelity (the John Cusack film is great too), but was also left cold by PS I Love You. My main feeling was irritation and I’m surprised I even finished it.

7 06 2007
Geri

I hada the same reaction to PSILY that you had. I found the characters annoying and unlikeable. However, I was fortunate enough to see an advance screening of PSILY in April, and am happy to report that the film is infinitiely more interesting than the book. The actors do a great job of bringing the characters to life and making them people you care about.

I had some rather distracting people sitting behind me in the theater, and still the film was good enough to nearly completely focus my attention, to the exclusion of everything else.

8 06 2007
FENICLE

I’ve been looking for some summer reading. I’ll have to put these on my list. Of the three – which would be your fav? I need something VERY interesting to keep me involved and reading until the end.

8 06 2007
chrisfiore5

hello so called blog,

just dropped by to check oout the latest entry in your blog…

hope all is well.

peace.

11 06 2007
FENICLE

Thanks for e-mailing me your opinions.

I’m having a WORST Father of sorts….come check it out….even if your dad is Father of the Year!

http://www.fenicle.com

Leave a Reply

