Crafty people – I need you!

19 06 2007

I have got the following craft books lined up in Amazon just waiting to be bought (I am waiting to make sure I get the right ones)… has anyone got these or got any others that they can recommend?  I am not interested in making clothes, only quilts, bags, soft furnishings and crafty things…

Bend-The-Rules Sewing: The Essential Guide to a Whole New Way to Sew – Amy Karol – I love her blog so I really want this.

Amy Butler’s in Stitches: 25 Simple and Stylish Sewing Projects – Amy Butler – I hear a lot of good things about Amy Butler…

Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing – Lotta Jansdotter – am pretty sure this has been recommended elsewhere

The Crafter’s Companion – Anna Torborg – not sure about this one

I still need to do lots of research about sewing machines too as I want one for my birthday in July.  Kirsten at Two Lime Leaves has given me plenty of helpful pointers (which I will be happy to share if anyone is interested), I just need to get myself to a shop so I can have a good look around.  I want a really good but cheap one!  Is that so wrong?  They seem so expensive in the UK.  Or am I just looking in the wrong place?

I am also looking for a good fabric shop online (preferably in the UK as the postage is so hefty when ordering from the States).  Admittedly, I haven’t spent much time on this but I only seem to find quite old-fashioned fabric online and I am still clinging to my youth (I am NOT 31 in a month and 9 days, I AM NOT!!!  ok I am).

Actions

Information

One response

19 06 2007
Shanna

i have the last 2 books…the one by lotta i like because the patterns are fairly simple (in design and to create). i haven’t made anything from it yet, however, but i’ve got plans to! the crafter’s companion has so REALLY cute stuff to make! it’s very well written too. jen of the felt mouse is making the projects in order and she finds them fairly easy…again, i haven’t made anything from it but plan to!

Leave a Reply

