Mighty my arse

20 06 2007

I am in a fab mood today but there is something I simply must get off my chest that has been annoying me.

Back in March, I bought Maggie Mason’s book No One Cares What You Had for Lunch: 100 Ideas for Your Blog directly from her blog using PayPal. When I ordered it, it clearly stated that they accepted orders internationally. Other than the PayPal receipt I have heard nothing else. I have emailed Ms Mason numerous times but had no indication that the book has been sent. She hasn’t even replied to my emails. Now, I used to be a faithful reader of her blog but have now unsubscribed as I get really annoyed reading about all the crap she has been doing rather than answering a short email. She has also since stopped delivering internationally because of all the problems she has had.

If the book had gone missing in the post, I would have understood. I wouldn’t even have expected a refund if she could show she had posted it. But I heard nothing. I have contacted PayPal who informed me its is too late to do anything and anyway, only Ebay purchases are protected. I have tried one more time today to emai Mason. I do not expect to get a reply:

Dear Ms Mason

I am terribly disappointed to have heard nothing from you whatsoever since I made the below purchase. I have emailed several times (cc’ing the email address contained in the PayPal receipt) to no avail.

I can only assume that you have no interest in your readers or customers.

I do not expect to hear from you. However, should you decide to contact me, I would be grateful if you could simply confirm that you have posted the item ordered.

I do not expect a refund. I would just like a reply to my email.

Regards

I am annoyed a) because I think it is just rude to ignore someone who was trying to buy something you are selling (and for which you have pocketed the money) and b) I still want the book but cannot buy it now out of principle.

It is funny how the blogosphere changes things. If this was just a normal online purchase, I would have let it go. Because it is someone who I read about, I feel it’s personal.

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 06 2007
Janet

That is disappointing. I hope it gets resolved!

21 06 2007
ANO

Wow, no answer at all and it’s been since March?! I wonder if other people have had the same problem as you.

21 06 2007
kate1976

I already feel better for having a mini-rant! I am sure it wont be resolved and I have already written off the £12. I am sure people have been having problems since they have stopped shipping internationally and one of her blog posts mentioned sleepless nights worrying about it. I ws planning on being very reasonable. As I said, I had written off the money. I just object to being ignored! I will stop stamping my feet now!

23 06 2007
karriew

That really sucks.

I have never read her blog, but I remember reviews of her book being plastered everywhere.

Hopefully she’ll hear of this and contact you.

25 06 2007
kate1976

I wonder if the one of her ideas of things to write about in my blog was ‘when online purchases go wrong’ in which case, she only owes me 99 ideas.

Leave a Reply

