Forty – Love

28 06 2007

I just finished reading Lionel Shriver’s Double Fault last night.  Since Wimbledon has just started, it seemed perfect timing to read a tennis-related story about relationships and competition on and off the court.  I loved it!  The book follows a tennis-playing couple from their first meeting into marriage.  We see what success and failure does to a relationship; and the damage that competition can do.

I really do like Shriver’s style – well written narrative and great characters that have complexity nd are, frankly, interesting to read about, which is pretty key but unfortunately not always a given in novels.  If you haven’t read her first novel, We Need To Talk About Kevin, I urge you to do so.  It is not always comfortable reading but she has a way of getting to the heart of the most important issues and then doesn’t pussy foot around.  She gets stuck in.  I will be looking forward to reading whatever she writes next…

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 06 2007
charlotteotter

Kate, I haven’t read Double Fault, but it appears I must. I also loved WNTTAK, and I have just finished The Post-Birthday World, which was brilliant. Get ye to a bookshop/library and read it! I would love to hear what you think.

28 06 2007
kate1976

I am so going at lunchtime (like I need to be told to go to a bookshop twice)!

Leave a Reply

