James’s Mini Quilt

9 07 2007

James’s Mini Quilt, originally uploaded by kate1976.

I finished the mini-quilt for my cousin’s baby James this weekend. I am quite proud of it as it is my first ever completed quilt. It is a little bit ropey (please do not look too closely) but if you squint then I think it is quite cute. I was particularly keen to finish this as James is going to have to have a liver transplant very soon (he is only 9 months old) so I wanted his parents to know that I was thinking of them all.

Trees and stars and moon, originally uploaded by kate1976.

I found some yummy patchwork fabric that I used as the ground/hill (I didn’t do this patchwork which I suppose is cheating but I just loved the material).

JKJ initials, originally uploaded by kate1976.

His initials are the first ever chain stitch I have done and time constraints meant that I didn’t have time to buy embroidery thread or re-do the stitches. Hopefully it looks ok enough to not be too embarrassing.

The tree and design was inspired by the Two Trees and a Mini Quilt design in the latest issue of British Patchwork and Quilting magazine.

 

Actions

Information

8 responses

9 07 2007
twolimeleaves

You did a great job! It’s a lovely little quilt and I’m sure James’ parents will be very touched by your thoughtfulness. Nothing says I love you as eloquently as something handmade 🙂

9 07 2007
kate1976

Thank you so much, Kirsty. My only regret is that I didn’t have time to sign it.

9 07 2007
FENICLE

You are so talented!!! Have you ever thought of making these & selling them? Or doing customized ones? They are adorable. I am sure they take a lot of time though.

James is very lucky! (And his parents too!)

9 07 2007
Jen

Wow, that’s really amazing! As one who can’t do anything arty, I’m in total awe. There’s something really special about a homemade pressie…

X

10 07 2007
Megan

It’s very sweet, well done with finishing it.

10 07 2007
Cathy

Awww… that is a very sweet quilt! I’m sure he is going to love it, and his parents will really appreciate it. I hope he has a fast recovery from his surgery.

10 07 2007
kate1976

Thanks everyone! I feel like a proud parent! I would be happy to make one for someone if they wanted…

3 04 2009
New things in 2007 - update! « all five horizons

[…] my first mini-quilt. This may seem like duplication (see number 4) but a) it was not the same quilt – that one is a […]

Leave a Reply

