New things in 2007 – update!

5 01 2008

So this is what I managed to do. I was aiming for 50 new things but apparently I am quite dull. In 2007, I have:

  1. Felt the testicles of a ram (what a start!!).
  2. Made pottery on a hen weekend.
  3. Learned some new phrases.
  4. Visited Ireland.
  5. Walked on The Burren.
  6. Drank Guinness in a Irish Pub in Ireland.
  7. Started to make a patchwork quilt. I was going to wait until I had finished to add it but it’s been ages since I had done something new.
  8. Skipped an essay. Nowt to be proud of, to be sure, but it is something new for me.
  9. Been to a Hobbycraft and Sewing for Pleasure fair – everyone at work mocked me but who cares.
  10. Seen the Pacific Ocean.
  11. Traveled on a cable car in San Francisco.
  12. Stayed in a yurt.
  13. Driven down Mullholland Drive and saw the Hollywood sign.
  14. Been horse riding in Arizona.
  15. Flown into the Grand Canyon in a helicopter.
  16. Gambled in Las Vegas (only $4 or so but it still counts as a new thing).
  17. Played with my new MacBook. I still think I am PC deep down but it is nice to have a new toy!
  18. Wandered around the Leamington Peace Festival.
  19. Played Buzz on the PS3 – so much fun!
  20. Met a blog friend in the flesh.
  21. Tried Miso Soup at last!! It is delicious (if it’s from the right place).
  22. Finished my first mini-quilt. This may seem like duplication (see number 4) but a) it was not the same quilt – that one is a patchwork larger quilt and b) it is not finishedit is now!!
  23. Been to see a concert at the O2 arena (which used to be the Millenium Dome).
  24. Learned basic HTML (like how to do page breaks and add links without the aid of a safety net!)
  25. Met a MySpace friend in the flesh.
  26. Worked part-time. This is the life! A 30-hour week may sound like it is almost full-time but wow! It is good having some spare hours in the day.
  27. Made a Jack O Lantern for Halloween.
  28. Made Spicy Toasted Pumpkin seeds.
  29. Made cushion covers using one of my new craft books The Impatient Patchworker.
  30. Eaten a delicious Sardinian Fish Stew at a lovely pub, The Oxford Arms.
  31. Subscribed to Martha Stewart Living and Real Simple magazines.
  32. Been to see Foo Fighters at NEC Arena. (Full disclosure: First time seeing them there).
  33. Seen Queen tribute band Queen B.
  34. Worked at a Children’s Centre.
  35. Handmade a Christmas decoration.
  36. Read lots of new books.
  37. Driven a company car (of sorts).
  38. Cooked a turkey dinner.  I did it on Boxing Day for my family and it ROCKED.  I didn’t ruin it which was a major shock.

I will be keeping a new list for 2008 simply called ‘New Things’.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 01 2008
charlotteotter

Well it may not be 50 things, but it’s still a great and varied list. I may copy you on the New Things, because I enjoyed keeping track during the year.

16 01 2008
Janet

38 is pretty darn good!

Leave a Reply

