Reading round-up

6 01 2008

I have just re-done my reading list page for the new year (books read last year are still listed) and I noticed a couple of books on which I didn’t comment so I thought I would put that right.

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. I must admit now that I am a bit of a Bryson fan. I was really keen to read this book because I hate not knowing things and there is a hell of a lot about the world that I don’t know. Bryson was able to break down complex theories in a way that made me want to read on and on. He told the stories behind the men of science that made the all-important discoveries. In short, I loved it. I just wish I could remember all the very interesting facts that he shared. I suppose I need to read it again for it all to sink in. My poor little mind cannot cope with such big ideas as ‘what is an atom made of’.

Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild. In my quest to read all the great children’s literature I missed (as well as revisiting the stuff I did read and love), I read this much-loved book. Initially, I felt it was a tiny bit of a let-down (probably am now going to hell for suggesting this), especially after my enjoyment of Anne of Green Gables. I did enjoy it though and I could imagine falling in love with these characters if I were 20 years younger. The BBC adaptation shown on Boxing Day, though, made me appreciate the book even more and after a rather luke-warm initial impression, I was pretty put out by the poetic license exercised by the screenwriters of the BBC. A manufactured romance in the form of a widowed Mr Simpson and some important speeches being given to the wrong characters meant that I felt quite protective towards Streatfeild’s book. Such a shame because the casting of the three girls and Sylvia was pretty spot on.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

