In Cold Blood

14 02 2008

I have just finished my first book of the year which is pretty shocking but I will blame my lack of reading on: no train commute, work, university study (such as it is) and Disney. The book I have just read, however, is Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood. I had previously only read Breakfast at Tiffany’s and to be honest, I wasn’t sure what all the Capote fuss was about. But now I am a believer! The book is essentially a piece of non-fiction, telling the true story of a family murdered in Kansas in the 1950s. It has an extensive background on the murderers, the victims and the small town where it all went down. The trial was a foregone conclusion (the murderers had confessed although there was some discrepancy about who of the two ‘friends’ actually did the deeds) yet it was interesting to have an insight into the process and also to see what abusive of the system took place.

What made me love the book, despite the rather bleak and gruesome subject matter, was Capote’s use of figurative language which described things in such a precise way. His writing style in general made for a fluid and gripping read. I think I might have to revisit BAT to see if I missed something.

Next book on the go: Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys (required reading for my OU course but so far, I am enjoying it).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

